Jefferson County school board race takes shape


Three of the five Jefferson County Board of Education directors will not seek re-election this fall, and there will be six candidates looking to replace them.

Neither District 1 director Laura Boggs nor Paula Noonan of District 5 submitted their required candidacy paperwork by the Aug. 30 deadline, according to the board’s administrative assistant, Helen Neal.

Robin Johnson, a District 1 incumbent, resigned before the filing deadline, after she had moved away from the district.

Johnson’s seat will be an open one, even though “a handful” of people have applied to fill the current vacancy, Neal said. That’s because the applicants who applied to be appointed to Johnson’s seat did not also submit the paperwork that is required from all candidates to be considered for the ballot.

This means that whomever the board chooses to replace Johnson will only be a temporary seat holder, until the November election. The board has until Oct. 10 to pick Johnson’s replacement.

Neal said that six candidates each submitted the 50 signatures of registered Jefferson County voters needed to appear on the fall ballot. There are two candidates in each district race:

Candidates in District 1, which covers the north area of the county, include Tonya Aultman-Bettridge and Julie Marie Williams, both of Westminster.

Candidates in District 2, which is a west central and mountain district, include Jeff Lamontagne of Lakewood and John Newkirk of Conifer.

And the two candidates in District 5, which covers the south Jefferson County district, are Gordon “Spud” Van de Water and Ken Witt, both of Littleton.

Nine candidate public forums will be held beginning Monday, Sept. 9, at 6:30 p.m. at Lakewood’s Green Mountain High School.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment