Ralston Valley, D’Evelyn lead Jeffco state qualifiers


DENVER — Ralston Valley continued dominant play in Class 5A Jeffco into the regional tennis tournament as all seven of the Mustangs entries qualified for the state tournament Friday at Mullen High School.

After an undefeated regular season, the Mustangs dominated regionals. All eleven of their varsity players will participate in the state tournament at Gates Tennis Center starting Thursday.

“Our success this season is attributed to the work done in the offseason by these girls.  With the weather issues and limited practice time we’ve encountered,  I felt comfortable knowing these athletes had put in a lot of time in the off season on grooving their strokes and game,” Ralston Valley coach Kim Greason said.

Ralston Valley No. 1 singles Alex Purfield, No. 2 singles: Isabella Melena, and No. 3 singles Megan Wewel were among the state qualifiers.

D’Evelyn shines at state

D’Evelyn, last year’s runner up in Class 4A, proved itself again as the elite team — in not only 4A Jeffco — but in the entire state.

The Jaguars qualified all but one of their teams for the state tournament.

D’Evelyn No. 1 singles Lorraine Smith, No. 2 singles Annie Horn and No. 3 singles Lexi Reed all qualified to play at state.

D’Evelyn No. 2 doubles team of Abby Lyderns and Kara Robbins, No. 3 doubles team of Amanda Seamann and Sarah Dinegar and No. 4 doubles Izzy Lydens and Katherine Jacobs qualified as well.

“We knew we had a really good team coming back but we also had to go out and prove it, which we did. I am very proud of our team,” D’Evelyn coach Marshall Carpenter said.

Lakewood sent three of its teams to the state tournament in No. 3 singles Paige Stockton, No. 1 doubles Sasha Harrison and Schafer Kowalchik, and No. 3 doubles Ze Ching and Cristi Kraut.

Arvada West on the rise

Last but certainly not least was the surprise play of Arvada West.

After qualifying only one team to state last year, as well as losing several key players to graduation, the Wildcats qualified four teams to the state tournament.

A-West No. 3 singles Madison Fortunato, No. 2 doubles team of Kristin Thompson and Maddy Teter, No. 3 doubles team of Molly Esfahani and Sarah White, and the No. 4 doubles team of Rachael Schauer and Katie Guettlein will all continue to play postseason tennis.

“I am so proud of our girls and everything they were able to accomplish this year. It shows how hard working of a group we have and I am really proud of the season we had,” A-West coach Jenna Marvin said.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment