Ralston Valley sinks the competition at invitational


LAKEWOOD - The Ralston Valley Mustangs were record breaking winners of the Jeffco League Swimming Championship Saturday at Carmody Recreation Center in Lakewood.

The Mustangs took first place with a team score of 306, narrowly edging out Lakewood who finished in second with 291 points.

Fuelling Ralston Valley’s victory were three record-breaking performances, one by junior Erin Metzger-Seymour who swam the 200 Freestyle in a 1:51.62, which is both a new school and 5A league record time.

Metzger-Seymour then went on to swim the 100 Butterfly in 55.41, a time that broke another school record, as well as broke her own 5A Jeffco league record.

The other record setter was junior Maddie Myers who swam the 200 IM in a 2:05.63, which is also a Ralston Valley and 5A league record time.

Finally, up-and-comer Mackenzie Atencio won the 100 Backstroke in 1:07.81.

Then, to cap off an already awesome afternoon for the Mustangs, the event closed with the announcement that Ralston Valley coach Annie Brown was named the 5A Jeffco Coach of the Year.

“It has been an awesome year for us. We had to overcome a lot but I think it made us more determined and more motivated,” Brown said. “I am really proud of how our girls kept working and kept shaving times all season long.”

Also announced was the crowning of Columbine’s Erin Lemberger who was honored with 5A Swimmer of the Year.

Lakewood’s Meghan Lahr won the 50 Freestyle in 24.45. The Tigers also won the 200 Freestyle Relay with Lahr teaming up with Shannon O’Dell, Bailey MacKenzie and Victoria Papke for a time of 1:40.76.

“There is no possible way I could say I am disappointed with how we performed. I am just really proud of the way we came out and competed. The dedication and hard work that these girls put in this season has been incredible and we are just so proud to see it pay off,” Lakewood coach Jen Snowberg said.

The 4A side of the championship meet was dominated by Evergreen, who won their first league championship in a decade. The Cougars finished in first with a team score of 423, 109 points better than second place D’Evelyn.

Finishing third in 4A total team scores was Green Mountain (175), Wheat Ridge (143) finished fourth, Golden (138) finished fifth, Conifer (108) finished sixth and Arvada (31) finished seventh.

Finishing third in 5A total team scored was Chatfield (241), Dakota Ridge (175) finished fourth, Columbine (127) finished fifth, Arvada West (84) finished sixth, Pomona (68) finished seven, Bear Creek (60) finished eighth and Standley Lake (51) finished ninth.

But not only did Evergreen own the pool on Saturday, they are now also owners of a couple prestigious awards. Jeanne Godaire was honored as 4A Coach of the Year, and Lexie Malazdrewicz was crowned 4A Swimmer of the Year.

Malazdrewicz, along with Lindsay Morrow, Josie Pearson and Kamryn Holland won the 200 Medley Relay with a time of 1:49.43. Holland also won the 200 Freestyle with a 1:57.59, and the 500 Freestyle in 5:21.60. Morrow then won the 200 IM with a time of 2:09.18.

But not to be outdone by her medley-mates Malazdrewicz went free-styling when she won the 50 Freestyle in 24:09, and then the 100 Freestyle on 50.98.

Evergreen rounded out the championship with wins in the 200 Freestyle Relay at 1:38.90, the 100 Backstroke (Marrow 57:22), the 100 Breaststroke (Anna McDonald 1:11.43), the 100 Freestyle Relay and the 400 Freestyle Relay.

D’Evelyn junior Breanna Bushey won the 100 Butterfly in 56.99. The Jaguars also had the best diver as Brynn Frauenhoff won with a score of 338.40.

The 5A best diver was Chatfield’s Averly Hobbs who finished with a score of 298.10.



No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment