🎉   Welcome to our new web site!   🎉

For the next 30 days, we’re providing free access to non-subscribers so you can see what we have to offer. And if you subscribe by June 1, you’ll get a 25% discount on your subscription! We hope you’ll like what you see and want to support local media.

Jeffco Board of Education moves forward

Rupert, Harmon and Mitchell were officially sworn in Nov. 27


As votes cast Nov. 7 are now official per the canvass board, Brad Rupert, Susan Harmon and Ron Mitchell were officially sworn in at a special meeting Nov. 27.

“I would like to first say thank you to the voters for the confidence they've placed in all of us,” Rupert said after taking his oath of office for another four years. “I'm looking forward to all the great work I think is possible with all the pieces in place for Jefferson County Public Schools' future in closing achievement gaps and bringing new programs for our schools and continuing to nurture the alternative pathways we present to our students.”

All three candidates will serve four more years on the board.

They were all first elected following the recall of the conservative board majority in 2015.

The three were also part of the board decision to find new leadership for Jeffco schools by not renewing former superintendent Dan McMinimee's contract. The board then launched a national superintendent search the beginning of this year, which lead to the hiring of Dr. Jason Glass.

“It is time for us all to look forward to the future,” Mitchell said. “It is the future that matters and what we do with the responsibility the voters have given us.”

Harmon said moving forward, she is making a recommitment to the challenges that people have with mental health, saying she want so make sure “we are doing all the right work for our kids.”

She also encouraged the community to stay involved in what the board is doing.

“Continue to share your enthusiasm,” Harmon said. “Bring friends to board meetings or ask them to watch. If we could all do that, that I think we can broaden the circle, which will come back to all of our kids.”

In an effort to keep leadership consistent, the board also motioned to keep board members in the same roles with Mitchell as board president, Ali Lasell as first vice president, Harmon as second vice president, Amanda Stevens as secretary, and Rupert as treasurer.

“I believe we've functioned well in these role,” Rupert said before he made the motion.

The next board of education meeting is scheduled for Thursday, Dec. 7 at 1829 Denver West Drive, Golden. View the agenda at www.boarddocs.com/co/jeffco/Board.nsf/Public.


Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.