Ars Nova Singers “Music of the Renaissance: The Earthquake Mass”

Posted by

Join Boulder Colorado’s critically-lauded a capella group, Ars Nova Singers, for the “Music of the Renaissance: The Earthquake Mass.” Anchoring the 90-minute performance is the colossal and revolutionary “Earthquake Mass” by the French composer Antoine Brumel (c. 1460-1513). The Earthquake Mass was based on the chant for Easter Sunday, “And Behold The Earth Moved.” A marvel of Renaissance choral writing, Brumel’s score was the first choral work written for 12 voices, instead of the more common four to six. Renowned Renaissance viola da gamba professional, Ann Marie Morgan, will accompany the performance and add to the lively tapestry of sound woven together by the choir. Other works in the program include Thomas Tallis’s “The Third Tune For Archbishop Parker’s Psalter,” Josquin des Prez’s rendition of “Ave Maria,” and Mainz’s “O Darkest Woe.”

Event Date
Sunday, February 23, 2020
Event time
4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Cost / donation
Samantha Denlinger
Music, Arvada, Westminster


Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.