election 2021

Election Results 2021: Results in for Lakewood City Council races

Crowded field for Ward 5 seat is close


With 99% of ballots counted, the results are in for the 2021 election fo fill six spots on Lakewood’s City Council.

In Ward 1, Jeslin Shahrezaei is running against Cathy Kentner for the seat being vacated by a term-limited Ramey Johnson. Shahrezaei garnered 52.8% of the voter to beat out Kentner, out of 7,582 cast. 

About 3/5ths of Ward 2 voters opted for   Sophia Mayott-Guerrero ahead of Charles Davis.

Ward 3 Incumbent Mike Bieda looks to have lost his council seat to challenger Rebekah Stewart, who captured more than 58% of the 9,165 votes counted so far. 

A similar margin of victory can be seen in Ward 4, where Richard Oller appears to have a commanding lead of 1,549 (out of 9,165) votes over opponent Christopher Arlen.

Ward 5 has two open council seats. Incumbent Karen Harrison is term-limited. Dana Gutwein, who held the other Ward 5 seat, resigned from council in August. Thomas Keefe, Wendi Strom, Mary Janssen and Michael Gunstanson are each vying to represent the ward.

The top vote-getter will take on a four-year term. Second place will fulfill the last two years of Gutwein's term.

Strom is in the number one spot with more than 30% of the 13,221 total votes cast in the race. For second place, only a single vote separated Keefe (with the advantage) and Janssen. 

Gunstanson sits in fourth place. 

Lakewood voters also weighed in on a 5% retail tax and a 5% wholesale excise tax on marijuana and marijuana infused products — voting "Ballot Issue 2D" down.

Voters overwhelmingly said yes to retaining two presiding judges as well: Judge Anne Stavig and Judge Nicole Bozarth. 

Election 2021, Lakewood, city council, Ward 5, Dana Gutwein, Thomas Keefe, Wendi Strom, Mary Janssen, Michael Gunstanson


Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.