Laydon wins Republican primary for Douglas County commissioner

Opponent Diane Holbert conceded just after 7:30 p.m.


Abe Laydon has won the primary election for District 1 Douglas County Commissioner over Diane Holbert — who's currently serving in an interim position on the board.

Holbert conceded to Laydon through a voicemail just after 7:30 p.m. June 26, when the first round of results were posted to the Colorado Secretary of State's website.

“My goal was just to run a clean, positive campaign, focused on solutions,” Laydon said at a watch party June 26. “I'm thrilled that the people of Douglas County acknowledged that.”

Holbert, who previously served as the county treasurer, got a running start at the job and the party's early favor when she was appointed in April to fill a vacancy on the board of commissioners. A committee of roughly 270 Douglas County Republican Party members voted Holbert in over Laydon, but it remained unclear how the majority of voters would lean.

Official results are not available until July 18, but as of 9 p.m. June 26, Laydon led the race with nearly 54 percent of the more than 33,600 ballots cast for commissioner. Laydon, an attorney from Lone Tree, will run against Democrat Mary Lynch in the general election. Lynch was uncontested in the Democratic primary.

“I am grateful to have the opportunity to have served as treasurer and currently as commissioner,” Holbert, of Parker, said. “Douglas County is the greatest place in the nation and I look forward to continue serving as commissioner.”

The swearing in of whoever wins the District 1 Commissioner's seat in November will take place in January.

The historic election was the first primary in Colorado where unaffiliated voters could participate. As of June 1, Douglas County reported 48,853 registered Democrats, 107,147 registered Republicans and 87,576 unaffiliated voters. More than 3,800 voters were classified as “other.”

Here's a roundup of more contested Douglas County races.

Clerk and Recorder

Incumbent Merlin Klotz squared off with Bob Kennedy in the Republican primary.

Klotz received 57 percent over Kennedy's 43 percent. He'll face Carol Johnson, who ran uncontested in the Democratic primary, in the general election.

Klotz became the Douglas County clerk and recorder in 2014. He's served as a board member of the Parker Water and Sanitation District and worked as a production controller for The Denver Post until 2008.

Kennedy's experience included multiple positions — assembly delegate, precinct leader and district captain — within the Douglas County Republican Party and work for local, state and federal campaigns.


Commercial mortgage banker Dave Gill and senior loan officer Bob Muni were vying for the treasurer position on the Republican side. Gill prevailed with 61 percent of the vote. He'll face Democrat Angie Hicks, who ran uncontested, in November.

Muni has chaired the board of trustees for the Florida Virtual School, a governor-appointed position. Gill is a former chairman of the Douglas County Planning Commission.

State House District 45

Incumbent state Rep. Patrick Neville, a Republican, will run against Democrat Danielle Kombo in the general election. Neville ran uncontested, and Kombo beat opponent Michael Hupp with 63 percent of the vote.


Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.